Former Magistrates’ court, police station and fire station, all in one grand 1880s building with a stunning entrance hall and Art Deco features
Nottingham Guildhall is a former Magistrates’ court on Burton Street in Nottingham. Built in the French Renaissance Revival style between 1887-1888 to replace the previous Nottingham Guild Hall, it was designed by architects Thomas Verity and George Henry Hunt. The building as erected contained the Police (magistrates’) Court, the Central Police Station and the new Fire Station.
In 1996, all magistrates were moved to the new Nottingham Magistrates’ Court building. Between 1996 and 2010 the Guildhall was occupied by Nottingham City Council. In 2010 the Council left for new, modern offices at Loxley House, close to Nottingham rail station. Since this date the building has remained Council owned but is relatively unused.
The two courtrooms situated side-by-side were a mirror image of each other, and had not been used since 1996. A suspended ceiling had been added and later removed, but the framework remains.
Court 2 was pretty much the same as Court 1, just mirrored with the public viewing galleries (the balcony) of each court back-to-back
The old cells were directly below the court rooms, and feature some nice decay, original brickwork and generally look like the kind of place you don’t want to be locked up in.